Today I thought I’d try something new… Every post I track a day in the life of my kids- which is really the purpose of my Blog- so that I can track their education… But what if I posted a Day from MY perspective?

An entire 24hrs following MUM/ Educator… Well – Why not?! This day wasn’t like most- Focusing on myself isn’t what I do well and therefore I felt like my day was all over the place, But here it is- In ALL its glory- & I must say I’m relieved I didn’t choose a day like today to do this- Because it was well & truly gory!

So here it is: 24hrs in my shoes…

730am

1417495_10208639075354275_2970272328506790697_o

I wake with a boob hanging out (from feeding Monkey) & kids surrounding me.. Hubby must have turned on the TV because it’s still on.. I pull myself up and Monkey pukes on the bed- Nice.

12744437_10208639074994266_3653451155005174366_n

Throw on some clean clothes & shoes, change and dress the kids.. Make lunches while sipping coffee… I really should eat – grab a few pieces of day old sliced melon (at least its cold) & eat. Mayhem has put on Diego & I spy Mischief outside with her Grandad changing my car tyre Thank goodness for Dads!  …Pack the car & kids.

Drive down the Road & Dad teaches me how to pump the tyre- Still learning new things at 27

935am

Drop Mayhem into Kindy (he was supposed to start half an hour ago)

Feed Monkey then zoom home to use wifi from the car- transfer money- Monkey has mostly screamed the entire way here (Reflux sucks!)

zoom back out… get cash out from ATM & head toward the park

11am

Meet my friends at the park (Praying the kids will sleep in the pushchair– They do not). I sit Mischief in the pushchair and attach Monkey to myself in his carrier. We walk & talk. ‘This is good – I need to do this more often’. The girls take Mischief down the slide & try the swing with her- she’s not in the best mood & so we head to the bakery across the road.

I change Mischief back at the car, Go to the library, drop off DVDs and get a few books to take out- Mischief delights in pulling books from the shelves & yelling at the top of her little lungs- She clearly isn’t the type of child you want in the library- But I do it anyway.

12741960_10208639070274148_4558371855836302312_n

We pop into the pet store- Buy a brush & treat for Barry. Mischief plays on the ride ons. I change a crying Monkey in the car -he’s hungry but its too hot to sit here & feed him so I drive the screaming babe to kindy where there is a nice shady spot.

245pm

Feed Monkey- he watches the leaves on the tree outside my window & falls asleep- the title “Trees make the Best Mobiles” dances through my head… Pull out the pushchair- Realize Mischief has managed to spill the entire contents of her water bottle on herself & car seat- Change her, get both kids in & go collect Mayhem.

Monkey screams the entire way home & when we finally get there, the only thing to calm him down is to hold him in a superman position in front of the fan – I swear its because of his outfit. He stops crying.

165967_10208639068754110_6159770083163614697_n

I move to the bed- he watches Mischief (who I strategically put into the cot- thinking sleep would finally find her), her Acrobatics entertain him…

12512443_10208639068074093_1765125930192270620_n

I suddenly find myself stuck in one spot- with dribble running down my arm & baby across my lap, I stare at my room- unmade bed, puked on sheets, a huge basket of dirty laundry (which only reminds me of the HUGE pile of clean laundry I am yet to sort through)- Ugh- Being a mum- You just never have enough hands!

….Finally Monkey falls to sleep & I brave moving him into his bassinet…as it happens luck is on my side!

12745492_10208639067754085_531392819682737297_n

I finish unpacking the car & then find Mayhem who is happily playing on his current favourite computer game & totally winning at it! Proud Mummy moment.

Back in the room I hear noises & find Mischief jumping in the cot trying to tear down the mirror (she had me in fits of laughter the other morning as she yelled at her reflection to give her a “Cuddle!?”). Sure she will wake Monkey again I remove her, place her in the highchair with some food while I unload & load the dishwasher- eventually she is covered in fruit stick. I clean her up. Put her back in the cot with fingers crossed.

The jug boils and Mayhem finds me asking to watch Diego – My urge to limit his TV time is over powered by the irresistible urge to put something decent into my tummy (not having had a proper meal all day doesn’t make for a happy Mummy or a happy Monkey).

I put the DVD on & get giggling Mischief from the cot- pop them both on the couch & get myself some baked beans on toast. They sit. I eat. My cuppa is Hot. This is Bliss.

I take the “free time” to change some stupid setting on my phone & had a quick convo with my lovely Mother in Law- at the point that I hang up my two older children are literally running circle around my feet. They are having immense fun. It ends in tears.

I feed Monkey on my bed while the other two jump around behind me – I end up yelling at them “Out you go!” after I get hit on the head with the soft beach bat. It’s almost

6pm

and my husbands not home yet. Just me & the HOONS.

I need to get them in the bath & make something edible for dinner (I don’t cook & when I do no one eats it)… I manage to run a bath- then my mum walks in the door Thank goodness for Mums! I bath Monkey and she dresses him.

We have cuddle time with Barry, Brush him, give him his treat and move his cage, top up his food & water. I get pissy at my husband who then makes dinner & feeds the kids & I take myself off for a much needed shower.

Mischief then has a bath & dressed by Mama, but refuses to go to bed. Monkey starts to cry- while I feed Monkey, the other two are taken to bed by Daddy… I get puked on a few times ‘Nice’ (I don’t last 5 minutes of smelling good before I once again smell of regurgitated milk).

830pm

I eat leftover pasta & drink a hot tea for my dinner. I get spilled on a few more times by Monkey. His Daddy changes him before I swaddle him up & put him to bed.

9pm

I sit on my bare bed- at some time earlier I managed to put on a load of washing… I contemplate the desire to get up and see to that mountain of laundry or to stay put, finish my 2nd hot tea for the night and go to bed earlier than 11pm for a change (once I find some clean sheets of course)

920pm

Mischief wakes- Put her back to bed.

ZZZzzzzzzz

430am

Monkey squeals. He needs a feed.

I pick him up wondering how much milk I’m going to get covered in before I  even get out of bed today… 15minutes later Monkey is full, swaddled & back to sleep in my arms. I marvel at how lucky I am to have such good sleepers –  all 3 of my children would sleep 6- 8hr nights before they hit one month….

I sit for a few minutes and just cuddle him

“They’re not little for long”

I hear all the mothers before me say…

 

I pop him in bed, scroll through my FB- I know one of the kids is likely to come in soon-

455am

Mayhem walks in- I walk him back.

I notice Mischief missing from her bed & find her asleep on the floor.

I tuck Mayhem in & move her back into bed.

5am

Back to sleep.

630am

Monkey Squeals. He wants milk.

My husband is next to me- scrolling through FB- avoiding getting up since his alarm started blaring half an hour ago. Monkey lies between us feeding- I shut my eyes while also telling myself to “Get Up”

640am

Mayhem is whinging to his Dad who must have finally got out of bed… Monkey suddenly detaches himself from me & Mayhem positions himself where his Daddy no longer lays..

Mayhem suddenly pinches under my arm & I’m jolted awake.. I put Monkey back in his bed snoring away ‘like father like son’.

650am

I’m up.

12745600_10208639075754285_2606858001590902224_n

But by…

8am…

ALL 3 kids are dressed, I’ve had my cuppa tea, Banana Milo smoothies made & shared between the family, lunches made, breakfast for Mischief & Mayhem given, dressed myself, unloaded the drier & a vow to climb and conquer laundry mountain today has been pledged….

24hrs done…

& still going.

